The money situation, so far.

I like to think I have a pretty good grasp on money. I’ve always had enough for what I need thanks to a Mum who has done everything in her power to provide, and most of the time I’ve saved enough of my own money to be able to get what I want as well. This is the mindset I came to university with.

I was wrong.

Not even an entire summer full time job could’ve prepared my bank account enough for what came in the first few weeks. Not only did I eat out more than I cooked, I treated myself to the latest iPhone. So there’s £549 gone in the blink of an eye.

I’ll be honest and say I’ve actually regretted buying it because it’s put such a spanner in the works, that’s 5 weeks of living expenses gone in a day. It’s really starting to bug me, I’ll remember this for the next time I’m tempted by something shiny.

Despite the initial blow to the bank account I’d levelled it out, spending had reached an all-time low and was only buying what I needed. At times I was even under budget!

Then the worst happened. Frustrated with the thought of having to do two essays in a weekend I had a steady supply of tea running through my system, sometimes I feel I should have it on a drip of some sort. Anyway, I’d just made a fresh one and set it down and yes, the unthinkable happened.

It spilled.

All over my MacBook.

Disaster.

The immediate dabbing and absorbing followed suit but eventually I progressed through denial, anger, bargaining, depression and quickly proceeded to acceptance. So as a result the device works fine for now but apparently over an ambiguous amount of time will die a slow and painful death, and now my wallet was about to feel the pain.

After going to apple, and finding out that to repair said damage would cost £750, I thought to myself:

No way, I’ll take my chances with the rust, thanks.

So now I have to rustle up the bulk of a grand to fix the consequence of a messy desk. No more ready meals and Starbucks, hello 15p noodles. I can do it, I can not-spend £750, it’ll be quite the challenge but I’ll manage somehow.

This has gone on quite a tangent, but you see what I’m getting at. Unexpected costs can spring out of a simple cup of tea. That warmth you hold so dear can have a heart of absolute icy stone if you let it.

Moral of the story? Don’t trust your hot beverages.

But really though, always have money saved for emergencies when you’re a student (well, just generally at any point in your life, but to give it context). We think we’re invincible and that we can do what we please and generally…we can. But there comes a time in every person’s life when they have to wake up and smell the MacBook-killing tea.

 

Leave a Reply

