Did you really just…? Student canteen.

So there’s a student canteen near my lecture halls, it’s becoming quite a crutch to the success of a day. If I don’t get my cup of tea between lectures I’ll fall asleep, period. I’ll just konk out mid-sentence and my nose will press the ‘g’ key and fill the page with a billion of them.

Anyway, the stuff I see my fellow students getting up to. Some of it I even find it hard to believe…and I’m sitting watching it!

Like this one girl, she was on the phone to a friend of hers explaining why she didn’t go out the night before and this is how it went:

so yeah I didn’t go out last night because my friend, well, her friend died. Yeah, she was our age. Basically, she got hit by a lorry. I know, right? Anyway, so that’s why I didn’t go out because my friend wanted to stay in. So I had to stay with her…I know. So annoying.

I was stunned. I was listening in on this in absolute awe at how completely ridiculous this girl was being. At the same time though it was absolutely hilarious, you couldn’t make it up.

Then just as she finished, a guy sat down at the same table as me but on the opposite side and opens a rather large Tupperware box. Inside this box was a chicken, this guy just whaps out this full chicken and starts demolishing it. This chicken was getting destroyed, completely annihilated. Just…what can I say? I think I have to just leave that one there. Massive chicken, devouring, end.

Another thing I see LOADS of people doing and not just in the canteen but mainly for a toilet trip; people leave their stuff wherever they were sitting and dander off to the loo for five to ten minutes. This leaves their laptop, phone, bag, coat, all the things, just lying there for anyone to take.

Just, WHY?!

This isn’t even being trusting, this is being stupid. Just stupid, I should be obligated to take that girl’s belongings simply because she leaves them there for the world to pinch. Stupid. I don’t understand how anyone can leave a laptop of any kind just lying on a table in a canteen full of strangers who could all benefit from the additional infusion of cash they’d get from trading that in to a pawn shop.

So, in closing (for now), rude girls, monstrous men and stupid people. The student canteen. I thank you.

2 comments

  1. Normally I’d say save money and purchase your own selection of tea (and coffee, and jungle juice, and carbonated soft drinks) for your living environment. But this canteen sounds like the trickling of a treasure chest of stories. Take an adventure and search out another cafe / coffee house. Not a chain like StarBucks or Nero – somewhere with character, and therefore characters.

    Find a few more of the ludicrous.

    However you may get the same types of conversation from mobile girls. The word, ‘like’ becomes a verb and everyone’s dull no matter what the circumstances.

    1. I love listening to people’s conversations, my favourites are the ones you hear in Tesco for example “yeah honey, I’m just putting the dinner in the oven as we speak” as they fish out a microwave meal. Brilliant.

      That canteen has it’s moments, I think that day was just a weird one, I’m always on the lookout though.

      And don’t worry, Merchant City is close to where I live in Glasgow and it’s abounding with quirky cafés, I’ll be sure to hit them up!

      Thanks again for your comment!

Leave a Reply

